2008-09-25 / News

Richard Crane Memorial Big Rig Truck Show Results

The following is a list of award winners from the 13th Annual Richard Crane Memorial Big Rig Truck Show in St. Ignace Friday, September 12, through Sunday, September 14:

Best-of-Show Non-Working

Warren Nyland of Martin, 1996 Kenworth

Best-of-Show Working Combination

Jeremy Hassevoort of Holland, Michigan, 1986 Peterbilt 359

Best-of-Show Working Bobtail

Robert and Shelley Brinker of Grayling, 2000 Freightliner Class XL

Truck-Lite Qualifier

Jeremy Hassevoort, alternate Brian Hitchcock of Webberville, 1996 Peterbilt 379

Richard Crane Memorial Award

David Sercombe of Jackson, 1997 Freightliner COE with Van

Mackinac Bridge Authority Award

Bobtail: Robert and Shelley Brinker

Combo: Ron Baird of Thorntown, Indiana, 2000 Peterbilt 379 with Tanker

Mayor's Choice

Bobtail: Rob Martin of Tecumseh, 2006 International CXT

Combo: Larry Brown

Peoples' Choice

Arvid Blaisdell of Michigan, 1926 Ford M-T

Participants' Choice

John Vanderwal of Hudsonville, Peterbilt 359 with Van

Judges' Choice

Bobtail: Brian Hitchcock

Combo: Gary Koner of Sugar Grove, Illinois, 1966 Freightliner T5164DD

Bobtail With Sleeper, less than 100,000 miles

Curtis Travis of Hamilton, 2008 Peterbilt 389

Hood Bobtail With Sleeper, new to 5 years

Rick Hitchcock of Webberville, 2005 Peterbilt 379

Hood Bobtail With Sleeper, 6 to 10 years

Jeremy Meekhof of Hamilton, 1999 Kenworth W900L

Hood Bobtail With Sleeper, 11 to 24 years

Royce Gritter of Byron Center, Peterbilt

Bobtail Working Intense Custom

Robert and Shelley Brinker

Bobtail, 1983 or older

John Bumpus of Hillsdale, 1963 Peterbilt 351

Day Cab Bobtail, 1984 or newer

Charlie Haines of Holt, 2005 Freightliner 120 michspec

Company Bobtail, 1984 or newer

Ron Pinckney of Wyoming, 2007 Peterbilt 379

Bobtail Wash and Show

Ted MacDonald of Ortonville, 1997 Peterbilt 379

Combo, With a 1983 or older power unit

Steve Dryfhout of Holland, Michigan, 1977 Kenworth W900A

Combo With Van/Ref

Jeremy Hassevoort

Combo Working Intense Custom

Steve and Dennis Mitchell of Blissfield, 1992 Peterbuilt 359

Combo With Dump

Rod Obbink of Macatawa, 1978 Peterbilt 359

Combo With Platform

Phil Knowlan of Coldwater, 1994 Peterbilt 379

Combo With Multi Axle

Chad Smith of Wheeler, 2006 Peterbilt 379 with Dumptrain

Combo With Specialized

Duane Hertz of Warren, 2006 Freightliner Coronado

Company Combo

Ron and Carol Commissaris of Wyoming, 2005 Peterbilt 379X with Reefer

Combo Wash and Show David Sercombe

Antique Bobtail

Steve VanZytveld of Macatana, 1982 Peterbilt COE

Antique Combo

John Vanderwal

Non-Working Intense Custom

Dean Bugg of Curran, 1984 Peterbilt 359

Special Interest Warren Nyland

Factory Interior Day Cab

Rob Martin

Factory Interior Cab and Sleeper

Rick Koster of Byron Center, 2005 Freightliner Columbia

Customized Interior

Colin Stuart of Harvard, Illinois, 1984 Peterbilt 359

Paint Without Graphics or Murals Bobtail

Ron Pinckney

Paint Without Graphics or Murals Combo

Ron and Carol Commissaris

Paint With Murals Bobtail

Rob Martin

Paint With Murals Combination

Steve and Dennis Mitchell

Paint With Graphics Bobtail

Warren Nyland

Paint With Graphics Combination

Chad Smith

DOT Approved Lights Bobtail

Brian and Marie Patrick of Chelsea, 2007 Peterbilt 379

DOT Approved Lights Combination

Phil Knowlan

Lights Unlimited Bobtail Robert and Shelley Brinker

Lights Unlimited Combo Rod Obbink

Factory Engine Warren Nyland

Customized Engine Robert and Shelley Brinker

Mackinac Sales on the

Waterfront Pedal Car

and Car Show Results

The following is a list of award winners from the Mackinac Sales on the Waterfront Pedal Car and Car Show in St. Ignace Friday, September 12, through Sunday, September 14:

Pedal Cars

Best Car

Austin Cymbalski of Petoskey, 1960 General

Best Truck

Christine Brown of Moran, Casey Jones

Best Custom

Zachary Cymbalski of Petoskey, Flamingo Convertible

Best Original

Thomas Reed of Parma, 1958 Murry

Best Restored

Christine Brown, 1950s Mini MoLine

Best Display Darlene Czar of Redford, VW

Best Paint Christine Brown, 1937 Ford

Best Interior

Christine Brown, 1941 Chrysler

Best Spec-Interior

Dan Czar of Redford, Lead Poison

Best of Show Sweepstakes Dan Czar, Lead Poison

Car Show

Best of Show

Lloyd English or Orion, 1963 Pontiac

Judges' Favorite

Fred Mann of Belding, 1967 Pontiac

Bryon Johnson of Manistique, 1955 Chevy

Mayor's Choice

Randy Norton of Marquette, 1970 Chevelle

Tom and Sandy Ayers of Springfield, Ohio, 1967 Chevrolet

Best Station wagon

Bruce Firesteen of Belding, 1949 Davis

Best Four Door

Phil Bellerose of Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, 1966 Ford Galaxie

Favorite Custom

Adam and Connie Cutler of Alanson, 1989 Ford Probe

Top 10

1. Tom Pickard of Hart, 1955 Chevy

2. Roger Gronzo of Belding, 1964 Pontiac

3. James Hunter of Pickford, 1968 Chevrolet

4. Doug Green of Lake Orion, 1965 AC Cobra

5. Gary and Gail Olger of Greenville, 1968 Chrylser

6. Bryon Johnson of Manistique, 1977 Corvette

7. Bill LeRoy of Kalamazoo, 2001 Corvette

8. Cletis Combs of Holly, 1954 Chevy

9. Mike Forsman of Cheboygan, 1964 Chevy

10. Chaz Roth of Lancaster, Ohio, 2002 Ford

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2008-09-25 digital edition