2016-01-14 / News

Jim Hill Reelected Chairman of the Mackinac County Board of Commissioners

Jim Hill was reelected chairman of the Mackinac County Board of Commissioners Thursday, January 7, at the county board’s annual organizational meeting for 2016. Commissioner Diane Patrick was reelected vice-chair. The five-member commission also includes Calvin McPhee, David Sudol, and Lawrence Leveille.

Commissioners represent the county on area boards and are liaisons to county departments. Assignments for 2016 are as follows.

Mackinac County Airport Committee: Sudol, McPhee

Community Action: Leveille, McPhee

U.P. Emergency 9-1-1 Board, Escanaba: McPhee

Local 9-1-1 Authority Board: McPhee, Sudol

Michigan Works!, meets monthly: Sudol, Patrick

EUP Regional Planning and Development Commission, meets quarterly: Hill, Patrick

Finance and Administration Committee: All commissioners

Housing Opportunities Made Equal Collaborative Board: McPhee.

LMAS Health Department Committee, Luce, Mackinac, Alger, Schoolcraft counties: McPhee, Hill

Manistique Lakes Dam Committee: Hill, Sudol

Hiawatha Behavioral Health Committee, Mackinac, Chippewa, and Schoolcraft counties: Patrick

Mackinac County Planning Commission, monthly: Patrick.

Tri-County Judicial Board, quarterly: McPhee, Hill

Upper Peninsula Commission for Area Progress (UPCAP), bimonthly: Hill

511 Corrections/Tether Board, Mackinac, Luce, and Chippewa counties, quarterly: McPhee, Leveille.

Upper Peninsula Fair Board: McPhee

Human Services Collaborative Body: Leveille

Finance Committee: Hill, Patrick

Mackinac County Brownfield Redevelopment Authority: Sudol, McPhee

Continuum of Care Committee: Leveille

Health Insurance Committee: Leveille

Geographic Information System Committee: McPhee, Hill

Emergency Management Board: Hill, McPhee

Upper Peninsula Talent Council: Sudol

In addition to their work on committees, commissioners serve as liaisons to county offices and departments. Mr. McPhee will serve as liaison to the animal shelter, building and grounds department, county airport, county clerk, emergency 9- 1-1 coordinator, equalization department, and sheriff’s office. Mr. Hill will serve as liaison between the county clerk, emergency management coordinator, prosecutor’s office, and treasurer’s office. Mr. Leveille will serve as liaison to Michigan State University Extension and Veterans Service office. Mr. Sudol will serve as liaison to the sheriff’s office. Mrs. Patrick will serve as liaison to the register of deeds, road commission, friend of the court, and county surveyor.

All board members will serve as liaisons to probate, district, and circuit courts.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2016-01-14 digital edition