2016-10-27 / Sports

Cedarville Girls Win, Brimley Boys Second at EUP Conference Championships

By Erich T. Doerr

The final 2016 Eastern Upper Peninsula Conference cross country jamboree took place in Rudyard Monday, October 17, as several local teams competed against each other to crown the event and season champions. The Cedarville girls team finished first, second, and third in their race to win the meet and the season title, while Newberry won the boys’ season crown.

Cedarville’s Emma Bohn won the girls race with a time of 21:18, with Caroline Freel taking second 23 seconds later. Teammate Lily Freel completed the Trojans podium sweep as she clocked in with a time of 21:58 as five Trojans finished in the top 10; Cassidy Barr finished seventh with Leila Schlosser taking eighth. St. Ignace’s Callie Kammers finished fourth with her Saints teammate Rosy Shimkovitz in sixth. Lauren Halvorsen of Brimley was fifth.

The strong individual performance propelled the Trojans to winning the team competition. The Saints finished second and the Bays third. Cedarville won the season championship after winning all three jamborees for a total of three points. Brimley’s total of nine points gave it second, with St. Ignace’s 11 giving it third and Newberry taking fourth with 12 points. Mackinaw City did not compete in the finals but still took fifth with its total of 12, losing a tiebreaker, as Rudyard took sixth with 18 points. Engadine finished seventh with 19 points. Pickford did not field a girls team this year.

Brimley’s Austin Plotkin won the boys race, breaking the tape in 16:55. He led home a trio of Bays runners in the top 10 as Marcus Harris finished seventh with Danny Anderson placing ninth. Newberry’s Kindred Griffis finished second with a time of 17:25, while Cedarville’s Thomas Bohn was third as he posted a time of 17:55. Engadine’s Dalton Zdebski finished fourth, with Pickford’s Michael Satchell taking fifth.

The Indians won the team competition with the Bays finishing second and the Trojans third. The boys season championship also went to Newberry, with a season total of five points, besting Cedarville on a tiebreaker. Brimley finished third with eight points with Engadine fourth with 12, Rudyard fifth with 15, and Pickford sixth with 19. Mackinaw City did not compete in the finals but placed seventh with 21 points in front of St. Ignace with 23.

St. Ignace’s Emmalee Hart won the middle school girls race with a time of 13:04. Her teammate Hallie Marshall made it a first and second for the Saints as she finished just seven seconds later. Lilianna Cason of Cedarville finished third and Kylee Peters of St. Ignace fourth. Cameron Hoornstra of Joseph K. Lumsden Bahweting Anishnabe Public School Academy (JKL) won the middle school boys race with a time of 12:10. Hayden Mills of Rudyard finished second with his teammate Gannon Smith in fourth. Hunter Hagen of Pickford was fifth. St. Ignace won the girls team competition and JKL won the boys.

Boys Team Results

Newberry won the meet with a score of 55, besting Brimley on a tiebreaker. They were followed by Cedarville with 57, Engadine 96, Rudyard 100, Pickford 130, and St. Ignace 217.

Girls Team Results

Cedarville won with a score of 20, followed by St. Ignace 72, Brimley 82, Newberry 89, Engadine 122, and Rudyard 123.

Boys Individual Results, top-20, plus team highest finishers

Brimley: Austin Plotkin, first in 16:55; Marcus Harris, seventh in 18:53; Danny Anderson, ninth in 19:07; Nathan Recla, 16th in 20:17.

Cedarville: Thomas Bohn, third in 17:55; Avry Freel, sixth in 18:46; Zach Claxton, 12th in 19:46; Evan Rye, 17th in 20:33; Jonah Miller, 19th in 20:50.

Engadine: Dalton Zdebski, fourth in 18:41; Ian McArthur, 14th in 19:52.

Rudyard: Payton Cheney, 11th in 19:33; Robert Malaski, 13th in 19:49.

Pickford: Michael Satchell, fifth in 18:43; Jacob Satchell, 18th in 20:38.

St. Ignace: Anthony Barkley, 31st in 22:24.

Girls Individual Results, top-20, plus teams highest finishers

Cedarville: Emma Bohn, first in 21:18; Caroline Freel, second in 21:41; Lily Freel, third in 21:58; Cassidy Barr, seventh in 22:40; Leila Schlosser, eighth in 23:03; Alyssa Cloud, 17th in 24:55.

St. Ignace: Callie Kammers, fourth in 22:10; Rosy Shimkovitz, sixth in 22:25; Caitlynn Dean, 18th in 25:04; Mia Singleton, 19th in 25:05.

Brimley: Lauren Halvorsen, fifth in 22:15; Hannah Lyons, 10th in 23:41; Olivia Wilcox, 13th in 24:07; Kendra Carrick, 20th in 25:16.

Engadine: Abigail Germain, 11th in 23:46; Camille Crandall, 21st in 25:25.

Rudyard: Emily Berkompas, 12th in 23:50; Erin Maloney, 15th in 24:52.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2016-10-27 digital edition