2017-03-02 / Columns

Engadine Consolidated Schools

We had a great day at the Winter Carnival Saturday, February 25. Together, the Polar Plunge participants raised $2,567 for Engadine Consolidated Schools. This event would not occur without the support of the Top of the Lake Communities Association, the Hiawatha Sportsman’s Club, and the Upper Peninsula Sauna Company, and we appreciate them. We also appreciate the Garfield Township EMS, Lance Kerridge, Jefferson Matthews, Chad Germain, and Neil McArthur for all of their assistance. The four-wheeler raffle raised $6,940. Congratulations to Wayne Grant, who won the grand prize. Second prize was a $100 gas card, won by Zach Baker. Third prize of a $50 gas card was won by Matt Birk. Graymont Rexton Project for hosted the community dinner Saturday, as well as donating the grand prize.

March is Reading Month. This year’s theme is “Baseball – Reading Is a Home Run.” Our elementary teachers are planning activities to highlight the importance of reading for learning, as well as encouraging reading for enjoyment. We welcome volunteers to assist in any of these activities.

Mark your calendar to attend “The Music Man, Jr.” Saturday, March 18, at either 3 p.m. or 7 p.m. This musical includes talent from both elementary and high school students. The production is made possible by funding from the Michigan Youth Arts and Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs. Come enjoy the show.

Upcoming Events:

Wednesday, March 1, and Friday, March 3: Girls Basketball Districts at Engadine.

Tuesday, March 7: Parent/Teacher Conferences, 5 p.m. to 8 p.m.

Wednesday, March 8, and Friday, March 10: Boys Basketball Districts at Brimley

Monday, March 13: Guardian Parent/ Community Meeting, 6 p.m.

Saturday, March 25, through Sunday, April 2: Spring Break.

Return to top


Click here for digital edition
2017-03-02 digital edition