2017-04-06 / Sports

Engadine Eagles Girls Named Class D Team of the Year by U.P. Sportswriters

By Stephen King’

Olivia Vaughn Olivia Vaughn The Engadine Eagles girls basketball team was named the Class D Team of the Year, Olivia Vaughn the Player of the Year, and Roger French Class D Coach of the Year when the Upper Peninsula Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association met Wednesday, March 29, on the campus of Northern Michigan University in Marquette to vote to select the top boys and girls basketball players of this past season.

The group is made up of professional sportswriters and broadcasters from around the U.P., comprised of people from newspapers, radio, and television.

Many players chosen from the Eastern U.P.

Girls Basketball

Eagles team captain and leader Olivia Vaughn was selected to the Dream Team, the only Class D girls player to receive this honor this year. Teammate Aubrey Simmons was voted to the 1st Team All U.P. Class D. Sophia Vaughn, Olivia’s younger sister, was given Honorable Mention for Class D.

Aubrey Simmons Aubrey Simmons The Dream Team also consisted of Taylor Bryant from Newberry; Frankie Mattson from Munising; Amber Huebner of Marquette, and Jordan Kraemer of Norway.

Other notable selections from this area included: Class ABC 1st Team Linnie Gustafson of St. Ignace and Marissa Immel of Munising. 2nd Team: Jordan Belleville of St. Ignace and Mackenzie Kalchik of Sault Ste. Marie. Garnering Honorable Mention were Makenna Bryant of Newberry and Ashtyn Bell of Sault Ste. Marie. For Class D, in addition to the Eagles, Pickford’s Kayla Rambo was selected to the 1st Team, while Mackenzie Barr of Cedarville and Madison Wilke of DeTour were named to the 2nd Team. Making Honorable Mention for Class D were Hannah Lyons of Brimley and Taylor Opolka of Pickford.

In other awards, Houghton was selected Team of the Year for Class AB, while Munising was given the honor for Class C. Carli Kelly of Norway was named Coach of the Year for Class ABC. St. Ignace Coach Doreen Ingalls was also discussed, however, it was noted that Coach Ingalls has won this award numerous times, while this was the first time for Coach Kelly. The Class ABC Player of the Year was Jordan Kraemer of Norway. She narrowly beat out Taylor Bryant of Newberry for the honor.

Linnie Gustafson Linnie Gustafson Boys Basketball

Some boys from the area made the list of awards this year and of those, none made the Dream Team. That was made up of: Jason Whitens and Dawson Bilski, both of North Central; Carson Wonders of Iron Mountain; Dre Tuominen and Trent Bell of Negaunee.

This year, the only male to make the 1st Team was Brandon Paul of Sault Ste. Marie. Making 2nd Team were: John Paramski of Newberry, Riley Alaspa of Sault Ste. Marie, and Darien Nichols of Manistique. Garnering Honorable Mention was George Severns of Newberry. For Class D, Derrick Edington of Pickford made 1st Team and Chase Massey of Cedarville was selected 2nd Team, while Rudyard’s Dylan Mills drew an Honorable Mention.

Jordan Belleville Jordan Belleville Other Awards included Trent Bell of Negaunee as Class ABC Player of the Year, with both Jason Whitens and Dawson Bilski sharing the honor for Class D. For Class AB, Marquette was named Team of the Year, while that honor went to Negaunee for Class C and North Central for Class D. The Coach of the Year for Class ABC was Drew Wonderman of Negaunee, while Adam Mercier of North Central was selected for Class D.

Kayla Rambo Kayla Rambo

Mackenzie Barr Mackenzie Barr

Madison Wilke Madison Wilke

Taylor Opolka Taylor Opolka

Derrick Edington Derrick Edington

Chase Massey Chase Massey

Dylan Mills Dylan Mills

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2017-04-06 digital edition