2017-05-04 / News

Five Will Run for Three St. Ignace City Council Seats Nov. 7

The November 7 election will see St. Ignace city voters electing a mayor and three city council representatives. Mayor Connie Litzner is running unopposed for a second two-year term, while five candidates are seeking three seats on the city council.

Incumbents Jim Clapperton and Jay Tremble and candidates Willie LaLonde, Kayla Pelter, and Benjamin Eisenman are seeking the council seats. The deadline for filing to run on the ballot for city offices was Tuesday, April 25.

Each of the council seats is for a four-year term.

Councilman Steven Paquin is not seeking reelection.

The city will not need to hold an August primary election for the race, as that step is only necessary if at least seven candidates run for office.

Anyone seeking to run a write-in campaign for a city seat has until Friday, October 27, to file declaration of intent forms.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2017-05-04 digital edition