2017-06-15 / News

Cloverland Electric Cooperative Announces Election Results

William LaLonde William LaLonde William LaLonde of St. Ignace, John Sawruk of Sault Ste. Marie, and Virgil Monroe of Manistique were elected to the Cloverland Electric Cooperative board of directors in the annual membership election held during May. Mr. LaLonde unseated Gerald Nettleton, of De- Tour Village, who has represented District A for 26 years, and he beat Dane Kuusinen, also of DeTour Village, in his first bid for a seat on the board. Mr. Sawruk narrowly retained his seat in a reelection bid to represent District B. Mr. Monroe was reelected to represent members in District C.

More than 28% of the ballots were returned, said Cloverland President and CEO Dan Dasho, double the votes cast last year.

Mr. LaLonde received 1,047 votes to Mr. Nettleton’s 984 and Mr. Kuusinen’s 791 for the District A seat. Other District A representatives are Jason St. Onge of Mackinac Island and Richard Newland of DeTour Village. St. Ignace and Mackinac Island are areas formerly served by Edison Sault Electric Company, which was purchased by Cloverland 2010. Mr. Nettleton has been serving at the board’s secretary and treasurer.

Virgil Monroe Virgil Monroe District A includes an area from St. Ignace to Drummond Island and north to Pickford, Kinross, and Trout Lake townships in Chippewa County.

In District C, Mr. Monroe of Manistique received 1,773 voted while Allan Ott of Manistique received 943. Other board members representing the district are Peter Legault of Engadine and Ronald Provo of Manistique. District C includes all Mackinac County townships west of and including Moran Township, west to Garden Township in Delta County, and north to Whitefish and McMillan townships.

In District B, Mr. Sawruk of Sault Ste. Marie received 1,708 votes and Linda Hoath of Sault Ste. Marie received 1,702. Other District B representatives are Charles Litzner of Sault Ste. Marie and Carmine Bonacci, Jr. of Sault Ste. Marie.

John Sawruk John Sawruk The district covers townships from Sugar and Neebish islands west to Hulbert Township and north to Sault Ste. Marie.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2017-06-15 digital edition